Travel and belonging

I’ve always wanted to travel and see the world for as long as I can remember.  As I get older the more places I want to see grows, In this sense I’m very different to a lot of my family they are home birds happy to never travel far from “home”.

As a photographer traveling and seeing the world will always be very appealing to me, to be able to capture different cultures and different ways of life would be amazing, for not only my self but for those who see my photos.

I’ve never really been a home bird, I wouldn’t call where I live as a home its more of a safe place, for me home is somewhere I can be free and not be judged by people and just be a human. although I can do that where I live with my family it’s not “home” to me It’s just a place where I live. Dont get me wrong I love where I live its quiet and unassuming with lots of dark secrets behind it but it’s not home for me.

For quite a few years now a place I once called “home” started to disappear and become a house where when alone I can walk around naked (wouldn’t suggest it with a puppy). The feeling of needing to learn how to fly and spread my wings and find where I belong has never been as strong as it is now, to find my new home, somewhere I belong.

For a-lot of people this would be simple, save money and then travel but for me it will never be that simple, For I am chronically ill with very unpredictable health. I know this shouldn’t stop me but it is, though I’m not 100% sure if it’s just me that’s stopping me or if it’s my family as well. This has dominated my mind a lot recently working out all the logistics on how this can work, how I could leave here and be safe. For once though I am determined to leave to fly and I will work around this.

I believe everyone needs to travel at least once in their life, just to see and experience another side of life.

Coming out as gay has been a big turning point for my feeling of wanting to leave for a while and travel, to meet others from across the country and world who are gay and to find that sense of belonging in the LGBTQ+ community. As down here there isn’t really any of that, we have other LGBTQ+ people around here but it often comes across as quite hush-hush, and that makes me uncomfortable. To be able to go somewhere that happily accepts queer people openly would be amazing to go somewhere that has a queer scene and somewhere that I could mingle and belong would be amazing.

I don’t belong where I live and maybe one day I will but for now I don’t, one-day I will leave here for a while and maybe one-day forever, till then I will continue to find where I do belong.

 

“I didn’t belong as a kid, and that always bothered me. If only I’d known that one day my differences would be an asset, then my early life would have been much easier.”
― Bette Midler

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

